media release: February 21, 2020


Steve Cox name 2020 recipient of

CJKL Lifetime Achievement Award


Steve Cox has been named the 2020 recipient of the CJKL Lifetime Achievement Award. Cox has been instrumental in presenting hockey events and serving on local sports organizations in Kirkland Lake for more than 20 years.


He served as Chair or Co-chair of several charity hockey games and was President of the Kirkland Lake Minor Hockey Association and is currently the President of the Kirkland Lake Gold Miners Junior A Hockey Club and Chairman of the Kirkland Lake Recreation Advisory Committee.


Cox Co-chaired the Dudley Hewitt Cup Junior Hockey Tournament hosted by the KL Gold Miners in 2016. He was the main organizers of several charity golf tournaments for the Kirkland Lake Gold Miners


Cox has organized several charity NHL Alumni games in Kirkland Lake including alumni teams from the Montreal Canadiens and Toronto Maple Leafs. He is also involved in this weekend’s charity game between the Flying Fathers and Holy Name Irish Alumni.


In addition, Cox was a founding member of the Kirkland Lake Festivals Committee, served as Vice President of the Kirkland Lake Soccer Association, was a member of the Legion 87’s hockey organization and the Hockey Heritage North Foundation, which helped fund youth sports in Kirkland Lake.


Cox was also instrumental in organizing the 44 paintings of former Kirkland Lake NHL players that are displayed in the arena of the Community Complex. Cox did the research, secured the sponsors and worked with local artist Mark Didine to bring the project to life.


The 2020 CJKL Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented at the Kirkland Lake and District Chamber of Commerce’s annual dinner on Thursday, April 9 at Heritage North.


The evening will also include the presentation of the CJKL Citizen of the Year Award to the Kirkland Lake 100th Anniversary Committee and the presentation of the Chamber’s People’s Choice Awards.


Online voting for the Chamber awards ends Monday, February 24 at 4pm on the Chamber’s website.


Tickets for the dinner are available by contacting the Kirkland Lake & District Chamber of Commerce office at (705) 567-5444.

Previous recipients:

Kirkland Lake Arts Council

Bill Enouy

Alline Morash

Mike Guimond

Kenogami Spring Break Committee

Kabaret Charitable Foundation

Anna Giannakopoulos

Mary Nemcsok

Mike Leahy

Brian Culhane

Chuck Wallsten

Clancy Roswalka

Margaret Daugherty

Brian Hamilton

Carolyn MacKinnon

Ron Loach

Glenn Conrad

James Perry

Glenn Carter

Tom McClelland

Joe Mavrinac

Neil Culhane

Kaarine Evans

Hazel Joy

June Korhonen

Reg Tressider

Bertha Boisvert

The Santa Claus Express Committee