media release: February 21, 2019


Kirkland Lake Gold

named CJKL Citizen of the Year


Kirkland Lake Gold has been named the 2018 CJKL Citizen of the Year. The company has made a financial commitment of more than $3 million dollars to the Kirkland and District Hospital and an additional $280,000 to local organizations throughout the 2018 fiscal year.


Kirkland Lake Gold committed $3.2 million dollars to the Kirkland and District Hospital for a new 6-bed intensive care unit, which will include a CAT scan machine.


“We thank KL Gold for their continued support and congratulate them,” said Gary Sims, President and CEO at the hospital. “Their investment will revolutionize health care delivery for our region for years to come.”


Throughout 2018, the Company also supported several local organizations including key donations to the Kirkland Lake Curling Club to replace failing equipment and the Kirkland Lake Golf Club for clubhouse repairs.


Kirkland Lake Gold is also the main sponsor of the Kirkland Lake Gold Junior A Hockey team and a major sponsor of the Kirkland Lake Festivals Committee in presenting the free Canada Day Party and fireworks.


Furthermore, the Company supported the Toburn Operating Authority, the Kirkland Lake 100th Anniversary Committee, the Kirkland Lake Arts Council and many local not-for-profit service groups and sports organizations.


In addition to monetary donations, Kirkland Lake Gold staff participated in a food drive for the local food bank, a breakfast program at Federal School, volunteered for the Salvation Army Christmas kettles, and sponsored a blood donor clinic.


Kirkland Lake Gold’s 2017 sustainability report showed the company employs over 1200 people in the area with an annual payroll of more than $150 million dollars and spent an additional $150 million dollars in local goods and services in Northern Ontario in that year.


The CJKL Citizen of the Year award is presented annually to local people, groups and businesses who have contributed to improving the quality of life for the people of Kirkland Lake.


Kirkland Lake Gold will be presented the 2018 CJKL Citizen of the Year Award as part of the Kirkland Lake District Chamber of Commerce’s annual dinner on Thursday, April 18 at Heritage North.


The annual dinner will also include the presentation of the CJKL Lifetime Achievement Award. The Lifetime recipient will be announced in the coming weeks.


In addition, the Chamber of Commerce’s People’s Choice Awards will be presented at the dinner. Online voting will begin in March on the Chamber’s website.

CJKL Citizen of the Year recipients:

2018: Kirkland Lake Gold

2017: Lorraine Kiely

2016: Kirkland Lake Swampdonkeys Basketball

2015: Kirkland Lake Festivals Committee Volunteers
2014: Kirkland Lake Rotary Club
2013: KL Gold Miners Jr A Hockey Club
2012: Ministry of Natural Resources

2011: Splash Park Committee

2010: Pat Gannon & Mary Ranta

2009: Conrad Messier

2008: Angela Chiasson-Fox

2007: Doug LaBerge

2006: Frog's Breath Volunteers

2005: Hockey Heritage North Volunteers

2004: Kirkland Lake Gold

2003: Judy Mortson

2002: Barbara Hobson

2001: Nora Barker

2000: Dave Bolger

1999: Rick Danis

1998: Joe Rosko

1997: Sister Georgina Grubb   

1996: Irene Pochopsky

1995: Barrick Gold Corporation

1994: Blue Diamond Anniversary Com.

1993: Albert Dinel

1992: Mary Ann Taylor

1991: Norm Connelly

1990: Winter Carnival Com.

1989: Eugene Ivanov
1988: KLCVI Reunion Committee

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon


P.O. Box 430

Kirkland Lake, Ontario

P2N 3J4


© 2019 Connelly Communications Corporation