CJKL Citizen of the Year

& Lifetime Achievement Awards

CJKL Citizen of the Year Award Recipients:

For improving the quality of life for the people of Kirkland Lake

2019: KL 100th Anniversary Committee (details here)

2018: Kirkland Lake Gold

2017: Lorraine Kiely

2016: Kirkland Lake Swampdonkeys Basketball

2015: Kirkland Lake Festivals Committee Volunteers
2014: Kirkland Lake Rotary Club
2013: KL Gold Miners Jr A Hockey Club
2012: Ministry of Natural Resources

2011: Splash Park Committee

2010: Pat Gannon & Mary Ranta

2009: Conrad Messier

2008: Angela Chiasson-Fox

2007: Doug LaBerge

2006: Frog's Breath Volunteers

2005: Hockey Heritage North Volunteers

2004: Kirkland Lake Gold

2003: Judy Mortson

2002: Barbara Hobson

2001: Nora Barker

2000: Dave Bolger

1999: Rick Danis

1998: Joe Rosko

1997: Sister Georgina Grubb   

1996: Irene Pochopsky

1995: Barrick Gold Corporation

1994: Blue Diamond Anniversary Com.

1993: Albert Dinel

1992: Mary Ann Taylor

1991: Norm Connelly

1990: Winter Carnival Com.

1989: Eugene Ivanov
1988: KLCVI Reunion Committee

CJKL Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients:

For improving the quality of life for the people of Kirkland Lake over many years


2020: Steve Cox (details here)

Kirkland Lake Arts Council

Bill Enouy

Alline Morash

Mike Guimond

Kenogami Spring Break Committee

Kabaret Charitable Foundation

Anna Giannakopoulos

Mary Nemcsok

Mike Leahy

Brian Culhane

Chuck Wallsten

Clancy Roswalka

Margaret Daugherty

Brian Hamilton

Carolyn MacKinnon

Ron Loach

Glenn Conrad

James Perry

Glenn Carter

Tom McClelland

Joe Mavrinac

Neil Culhane

Kaarine Evans

Hazel Joy

June Korhonen

Reg Tressider

Bertha Boisvert

The Santa Claus Express Committee

Award Presentations:


The 2019 CJKL FM Citizen of the Year award and the 2020 CJKL FM Lifetime Achievement award will be presented at the Kirkland Lake & District Chamber of Commerce's annual dinner. A rescheduled date for the dinner will be announced in the coming weeks. For more information, contact the Chamber office at 567-5444.

The CJKL Citizen of the Year Award and the CJKL Lifetime Achievement Award are endorsed by The Corporation of the Town of Kirkland Lake.

The Selection Process:


Nominations for the CJKL FM Citizen of the Year & Lifetime Achievement awards are open to the public between December 1-January 10. A committee of local volunteers from the community selects the annual winner. These awards are intended to recognize volunteer efforts and should not be part of a paid position. Send detailed information on your candidate to the CJKL Citizen of the Year Award:

mail: P.O. Box 430, Kirkland Lake, P2N 3J4

fax: 705-567-6101

drop off: 5 Kirkland Street weekdays between 8:30a-4:30p

email: here

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon


P.O. Box 430

Kirkland Lake, Ontario

P2N 3J4


© 2020 Connelly Communications Corporation